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SUMMARY DISSOLUTION

Completing Forms:

Fillable, printable pdf versions of the Judicial Council forms contained in this packet are
available online at https://courts.ca.gov/rules-forms/find-your-court-forms. You can type the
forms and print them out for filing.

Self Help Resource Center:

If you do not have an attorney representing you, free assistance is available. Please contact
the Self-Help Resource Center, also known as the Office of the Family Law Facilitator. The Self-
Help Resource Center will provide instructions on how to complete the forms and how to properly
serve notice on all the necessary parties. They can answer your procedural questions and explain
the court process but CANNOT complete your forms for you, provide legal advice, or represent you
in court. The Self-Help Resource Center can be reached at (559) 737-5500 and
selfhelp@tulare.courts.ca.gov, and offices are located at:

e County Civic Center: 221 S. Mooney Blvd., Room 203, Visalia, CA 93291
e South County Justice Center: 300 E. Olive Ave., Porterville, CA 93257

Other Resources:

If you have further questions or concerns, you may wish to consult with an attorney or use
the assistance of a paralegal or typing service. You may also conduct self-research at:

e California Courts’ Self-Help website: https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/

e Tulare County Law Library: https://tularecounty.ca.gov/lawlibrary/
o The Tulare County Law Library is located on the ground floor of the County Civic
Center, and Law Library computer terminals are available in the Self-Help Resource
Center in the South County Justice Center.
e Sacramento County Public Law Library: https://saclaw.org/
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INSTRUCTIONS

This packet provides instructions and forms to file for a type of divorce called summary
dissolution. Summary dissolution is a shorter and easier way to get divorced. There are no court
hearings, and your divorce will be final six months after you file your documents. In addition to
reading these instructions, carefully read the booklet entitled Summary Dissolution Information
(FL-810), which provides detailed information about starting and stopping the summary dissolution
process.

Not everyone qualifies for summary dissolution. Before proceeding, check to ensure that
you are eligible. Summary dissolution is only available if:

v Both spouses/domestic partners want to terminate the marriage or domestic partnership and
can work together to complete forms.

v There are no children of the marriage/domestic partnership who are minors (under age 18).

v The marriage or domestic partnership is 5 years or less (from the date you married or
registered your domestic partnership to the date of separation).

v Neither spouse/domestic partner has separate assets worth more than $57,000 (not counting
cars).

v The community property is worth less than $57,000 (not counting cars).
v The community debt is less than $7,000 (not counting cars).

v Neither spouse/domestic partner is seeking spousal support or domestic partner support
from the other.

v You have an agreement about how community property and debts will be divided or agree
that no property or debts exist.

v Residency requirements are met: One spouse/domestic partner must have lived in California
for the last 6 months and in Tulare County for the last 3 months.
Note: There is an exception to these residency requirements for same-sex couples who
got married in California, but now live somewhere that will not end their marriage. These
couples must file in the county where they were married.

If you don’t qualify for summary dissolution, the regular dissolution process is available.
Contact the Self-Help Resource Center for more information or visit the California Courts Self-
Help Guide at: https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/divorce-california.
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STEP 1: EXCHANGE FINANCIALS

As part of the dissolution process, each party must exchange financial information with the
other. This includes disclosing separate property, community property, community debts, tax
returns, current income and expenses, and whether there have been business or investment
opportunities.

e Property/debt worksheets: The Summary Dissolution Information (FL-810) booklet
explains what is considered separate property, community property, and community debt,
and includes blank and sample worksheets for each of these. Both parties should
complete the worksheets to identify property and debts. Once completed, provide a copy
of each worksheet to your spouse/domestic partner.

e Taxreturns: Make a copy of all tax returns you filed in the last two years and provide a copy
to your spouse/domestic partner.

e Income and Expense Declaration: Each party must complete the Income and Expense
Declaration (FL-150), where all expenses and debts are listed. Current pay stubs must
also be attached. Once completed, provide a copy of the form (plus any attachments) to
your spouse/domestic partner.

e Business and investment opportunities: Each party must prepare a written statement
describing any business or investment opportunity that developed after you separated, if
the opportunity was based on a business opportunity or investment made during the
marriage/domestic partnership. Once completed, provide a copy of the written statement
to your spouse/domestic partner.

e Property Settlement Agreement: If you have community assets or debts, determine who
will receive assets, and who will be responsible for paying off debts. The Summary
Dissolution Information (FL-810) booklet has a sample Property Settlement Agreement.
Both parties must sign the agreement, which will be attached to both the Joint Petition and
Judgment (see Step 2).

o Note: If you cannot agree on how to divide your property and debts, you should file
for a regular dissolution instead.
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STEP 2: COMPLETE THE PETITION & JUDGMENT

After you’ve exchanged financial information and agree how to divide up property and
debts, complete both the Joint Petition and Judgment:

o Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution (FL-800):
o Ifyou have property or debts to divide, attach your Property Settlement
Agreement (see ltem 13).
o If either party desires to restore their former name, indicate so at Item 15.
o Both spouses/domestic partners must sign this form (see page 2).
e Judgment of Dissolution and Notice of Entry of Judgment (FL-825):
o Ifyou have property or debts to divide, attach your Property Settlement
Agreement.
o Besuretoaddthe addresses of both spouses/domestic partners on page 2.

STEP 3: FILE THE FORMS

Make two copies of the Joint Petition, Judgment, and all attachments. You’ll also need to
prepare two self-addressed envelopes, with two stamps on each envelope. The envelopes should
be addressed to each spouse/domestic partner. Bring the original documents, copies, and
envelopes to the Clerk of Court for filing, located in Room 201 of the Visalia Courthouse, or at the
Civil Filing windows at the South County Justice Center. When you file your forms, the Clerk of
Court will keep the original documents and will give you back two file-stamped copies. Each
spouse/domestic partner will receive one copy.

Court filing fee: There is a fee for filing these forms. If you would like to apply for a fee
waiver, request a Fee Waiver packet from the Clerk of Court. Fees will be waived if both parties to
the Summary Dissolution qualify.

NEXT ACTION: WAIT OR REVOKE PETITION

The Clerk of Court will send the Joint Petition and Judgment to the judge for review and
signature. Once itis signed, the Clerk of Court will mail your copy to you in the self-addressed
envelope you provided. The effective date of your dissolution is six months plus 1 day from the
date the Judgment is signed and will be listed on your Judgment at Item 1(a).

Either spouse/domestic partner can stop the summary dissolution process before the
dissolution date by filing a Notice of Revocation of Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution (FL-
830). If this happens, and the other party still wants to be divorced, a new divorce case must be
filed to restart the divorce process.
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FL-810

SUMMARY DISSOLUTION
INFORMATION

This booklet is available in English and Spanish from the office of the court clerk in the superior court of each county in
California, or at courts.ca.gov/documents/fl810.pdf and courts.ca.gov/documents/fl810s.pdf.

Este folleto puede obtenerse en inglés y en espafiol en la Direccion de Registro Publico del Condado (Office of
the Court Clerk) o en la Corte Superior (Superior Court) de cada condado en el estado de California o en el sitio
courts.ca.gov/documents/fi810.pdf y courts.ca.gov/documents/fl810s.pdf.

Form Adopted for Mandatory Use Family Code, §§ 2400-2406
Judicial Council of California courts.ca.gov
FL-810 [Rev. April 28, 2025]
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I. WHAT IS THIS BOOKLET ABOUT?

This booklet describes a way to end a marriage, a domestic partnership, or both through a kind of divorce called
summary dissolution.

The official word for divorce in California is dissolution. There are two ways of getting a divorce, or dissolution, in
Callifornia. The usual way is called a regular dissolution.

Summary dissolution is a shorter and easier way. But not everybody can use it. Briefly, a summary dissolution is possible
for couples who

1. have no children together who are minors (a minor is a child who is under 18 years of age);

2. have been married and/or in a domestic partnership five years or less (this means that the time between the date
you married or registered your domestic partnership and the date you separated from your spouse or domestic
partner is five years or less);
do not own very much;
do not owe very much;
do not want spousal or domestic partner support from each other; and
have no disagreements about how their belongings and their debts are going to be divided up once they are no
longer married to or in a domestic partnership with each other.

2

With this procedure, you will not have to appear in court. You may not need a lawyer, but it is in your best interest to see a
lawyer about the ending of your marriage or domestic partnership. See page 19 for more details about how a lawyer can
help you.

For a summary dissolution, you prepare and file Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-800) with the superior
court clerk in your county. You will also prepare and turn in Judgment of Dissolution and Notice of Entry of Judgment
(form FL-825), together with a property settlement agreement.* Your divorce, ending your marriage and/or your domestic
partnership, will be final six months after you file your Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution. During the six months while
you wait for your divorce to become final, either of you can stop the process of summary dissolution if you change your
mind. One of you can file a Notice of Revocation of Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-830), and that will stop the
divorce. If either one of you still wants to get divorced, then that person will have to file for a regular dissolution with a
Petition—Marriage/Domestic Partnership (form FL-100) unless you both agree to start a new summary dissolution
process.

IMPORTANT! Domestic partners who qualify for a summary dissolution can choose to use the process described in this
booklet OR a special summary dissolution for domestic partners through the California Secretary of State. You can find
the California Secretary of State forms at www.sos.ca.gov. There is no filing fee for this process. If you choose to file
to terminate your domestic partnership through the Secretary of State, do not use this guide.

This booklet will tell you
1. who can use the summary dissolution procedure;
2. what steps you must take to get a summary dissolution;
3. when it would help to see a lawyer; and
4. what risks you take when you use this procedure rather than the regular dissolution procedure.

If you wish to use the summary dissolution procedure, you must, at the time you file the joint petition, sign a statement
that says you have read and understood this booklet. It is important for you to read the whole booklet very carefully.

Save this booklet for at least six months if you decide to start a summary dissolution. If you decide you want to stop the
summary dissolution process and revoke your petition, it will tell you how to do that.

SPECIAL WARNING

If you are an undocumented person who became a lawful permanent resident on the basis of your marriage to a U.S.
citizen or to a lawful permanent resident, obtaining a dissolution within two years of your marriage may lead to your
deportation. You should consult a lawyer before obtaining a divorce.

* A property settlement agreement is an agreement that the two of you write or have someone write for you after you fill out the worksheets in this
booklet. The agreement spells out how you will divide what you own and what you owe.

-



Il. SOME TERMS YOU NEED TO KNOW

In the following pages, you will often see the terms community property, separate property, and community obligations.
Those terms are explained in this section.

As a married couple or domestic partners, the two of you are, in the eyes of the law, a single unit. There are certain things
that you own together rather than separately. And there may be certain debts that you owe together. If one of you
borrows money or buys something on credit, the other one can be made to pay.

If your marriage or domestic partnership breaks up, you become two separate individuals again. Before that can happen,
you have to decide what to do with the things you own as a couple and the money you owe as a couple.

The laws that cover these questions contain the terms community property, separate property, and community
obligations. To understand what these terms mean, you should have a clear idea of the length of time you lived
together as spouses or domestic partners. This is the period between the day you married or registered your domestic
partnership and the day you separated.

It may not be easy to decide exactly when you separated. In most cases, the day of the separation is the day the couple
stopped living together. However, you may want to choose the day when you definitely decided to get a divorce and took
some action to show this (like telling your spouse or partner that you wanted a divorce).

Community Property
Community property is everything spouses or registered domestic partners own together.

In most cases that includes
1. money you now have that either of you earned during the time you were living together as spouses or domestic
partners; and
2. anything either of you bought with money earned during that period. It does not matter if only one of you earned or
spent the money.

Separate Property
Separate property is everything spouses or registered domestic partners own separately from each other.

In most cases that includes
1. anything either of you owned before you got married or registered your domestic partnership;
2. anything either of you earned or received after your separation; and
3. anything either of you received, as a gift or by inheritance, at any time.

Community Obligations
Community obligations are the debts spouses or registered domestic partners owe together.

In most cases that includes anything you still owe on any debts either of you acquired during the time you were living
together as spouses or registered domestic partners. (For instance, if you bought furniture on credit while you were
married or domestic partners and living together, the unpaid balance is a part of your community obligations.) It usually
does not matter if the debt was in the name of one spouse or domestic partner only, like on a credit card.

NOTE: If you have any questions about your separation date or about your property, it would be good to see a lawyer as
these issues can be complicated. Also, if you lived together before your marriage or domestic partnership, you may wish
to see a lawyer about possible additional rights either of you may have. For more information, read page 19 "Should You
See a Lawyer?"



lll. WHO CAN USE THE SUMMARY DISSOLUTION PROCEDURE?

You can use the summary dissolution procedure only if all of the following statements are true about you at the time you
file Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-800). Check this list very carefully. If even one of these statements is
not true for you, you cannot get a divorce in this way.

1. We have both read this booklet, and we both understand it.

___ 2. We have been married or registered as domestic partners five years or less between the date that we got
married and/or registered our domestic partnership and the date we separated. (Notfe that if you are trying to
end both a marriage AND a domestic partnership at the same time through a summary dissolution, both your
marriage and domestic partnership must have lasted five years or less.)

No children were born to the two of us together before or during our marriage and/or domestic partnership.
We have no adopted children under 18 years of age.

Neither one of us is pregnant.

Our community property is not worth more than $57,000. (Do not count cars in this total.)

3
4
5
___ 8. Neither of us owns any part of any land or buildings.
7
8. Neither of us has separate property worth more than $57,000. (Do not count cars in this total.)
9

The total of our community obligations (other than cars) is $7,000 or less.

For deciding on statements 7, 8, and 9, use the guide on pages 5-11.

__10. a. Atleast one of us has lived in California for the past six months or longer and has lived in the county
where we are filing for dissolution for the past three months or longer; or
b. We are only asking to end a domestic partnership registered in California; or
c. We are the same sex and were married in California but are not residents of California. Neither of us
lives in a place that will allow us to divorce. We are filing this case in the county in which we married.

__ 11. We have prepared and signed an agreement that states how we want our community assets and debts to be
divided between us (or declared in the joint petition that we do not have community assets and debts).

___12. We have both signed the joint petition and all other papers needed to carry out this agreement.

___ 13. Together with the joint petition, we will turn in to the clerk of the superior court the judgment of dissolution
forms and property settlement agreement, along with two self-addressed stamped envelopes.

___ 14. We both want to end the marriage and/or domestic partnership because of serious, permanent differences.
___ 15. We have both agreed to use the summary dissolution procedure rather than the regular dissolution procedure.

___ 16. We are both aware of the following facts:

a. There is a six-month waiting period, and either of us can stop the divorce at any time during this period.

b. The date that appears on the Judgment of Dissolution of Marriage and Notice of Entry of Judgment
(form FL-825) we receive from the court as the "effective date" of the dissolution is the date our divorce
will be final, unless one of us has asked to stop the divorce prior to that effective date.

c. After the dissolution becomes final, neither of us has any right to expect money or support from the other
except that which is included in the property settlement agreement.

d. By choosing the summary dissolution procedure, we give up certain legal rights that we would have if we
had used the regular dissolution procedure. These rights are explained on page 4.



IV. AN IMPORTANT DIFFERENCE BETWEEN SUMMARY DISSOLUTION
AND REGULAR DISSOLUTION

With a regular dissolution, either spouse or domestic partner can ask for a court hearing or trial. And with a regular
dissolution, if either spouse or domestic partner is unhappy with the judge’s final decision, it is possible to challenge that
decision. This can be done, for example, by asking for a new trial. It is also possible to appeal the decision by taking the
case to a higher court.

With a summary dissolution, there is no trial or hearing. Couples who choose this method of getting a divorce do not
have the right to ask for a new trial (since there is no trial) or the right to appeal the case to a higher court.

There are, however, some cases in which a divorce agreement under a summary dissolution can be challenged. You will
have to see a lawyer about this. The court may have the power to set aside the divorce if you can show that one of the
following things happened:

1.

You were treated unfairly in the property settlement agreement.
This is possible if you find out that the things you agreed to give your spouse or domestic partner were much more
valuable than you thought at the time of the dissolution.

You went through the dissolution procedure against your will.
This is possible if you can show that your spouse or domestic partner used threats or other kinds of unfair pressure to
get you to go along with the divorce.

There are serious mistakes in the original agreement.

Some kinds of mistakes can make the dissolution invalid, but you will have to go to court to prove the mistakes. It may
be that one or both of you had a lot of property that you had forgotten about when you drew up the property settlement
agreement. Or maybe a bank account mentioned in the agreement had much more money or much less money in it
than your agreement states.

Neither of you complied with preliminary disclosure requirements.

California law requires that you fully share all information about your property and debts as well as your income. You
have to share this information before you sign your property settlement agreement.

In summary dissolution cases, this means that you and your spouse or domestic partner must each complete and
exchange: (1) an Income and Expense Declaration (form FL-150), (2) all tax returns you filed in the last two years, and
(3) the property worksheets on pages 7, 9, and 11 (or a Declaration of Disclosure (form FL-140) and either a Schedule
of Assets and Debts (form FL-142) or a Property Declaration (form FL-160)).

In addition, each spouse or domestic partner must complete and give to the other spouse or domestic partner a written
statement about any investment opportunity, business opportunity, or other income-producing opportunity that
developed since the date you separated which was based on any investment made, significant business done, or
other income-producing opportunity that was presented to you between the date you married or became domestic
partners and the date you separated.

Correcting mistakes and unfairness in a summary dissolution proceeding can be expensive, time-consuming, and
difficult. It is very important for both of you to be honest, cooperative, and careful when you or your lawyers do the
paperwork for the dissolution.



V. HOW DO YOU FIGURE OUT THE VALUE OF YOUR PROPERTY AND THE
AMOUNT OF YOUR DEBTS?

Section Ill, page 3, lists statements that must be true if you want to use the summary dissolution procedure.

Statement 7 reads: “Our community property is not worth more than $57,000.”

Your community property is the money and things you own jointly as spouses or domestic partners. This was explained
on page 2. The value of your community property is determined by adding together (1) the amount ofmoney you have as
community property and (2) the “fair market value” of the possessions you have as community property.

The fair market value is an estimate of the amount of money you could get if you sold these items to a stranger—for
example, through a classified ad in the newspaper or listings on the internet (online). It does not mean what you paid for it
originally, and it does not mean how much it would cost you to replace it if you lost it.

One way of estimating the fair market value of your goods is to use prices for equivalent items in other people's classified
ads in newspapers or online for secondhand goods.

Three kinds of items go into figuring out your community property:

1. Money (as in bank accounts and credit union accounts);
2. Things you own outright (furniture that is already paid for, for example); and
3. Things you are buying on credit.

When you include things you still owe money on, subtract the amount of money you still owe on them from the fair market
value.

You should not include the value of a car in this list.
Statement 8 reads: “Neither of us has separate property worth more than $57,000.”

Separate property is property that each spouse or domestic partner owns separately. The term is explained on page 2.
Separate property includes the same kinds of things used in determining community property. And again, you should not
include cars in this list.

Statement 9 reads: “The total of our community obligations (other than cars) is $7,000 or less.”

Your community obligations are the debts that you and your spouse or domestic partner owe jointly. The term is explained
on page 2. List all the debts you have that you took on while you were living together as spouses or domestic partners. If
you borrowed money before you got married or registered your domestic partnership, you donot have to include that in
your community obligations. If you bought furniture on credit after you got married or registered your domestic partnership
but before you separated, you have to include the amount of money you still owe on the furniture. If you bought a stereo
after you separated, you do not have to include that.

Do not include car loans in this list.

NOTICE: The law for summary dissolution allows you to leave out cars when you figure out whether you are eligible for
this kind of divorce. But if you do have cars as part of your community property, you still have to decide who is going to
own them (and who is going to pay for them) after your divorce. You must include them in your property settlement
agreement.

Worksheets to help you figure out these amounts are found on pages 6—11. You may use the following forms in this
booklet to figure out the total of your community and separate property assets and obligations: (1) the worksheet on page
7 (Value of Separate Property), (2) the worksheet on page 9 (Value and Division of Community Property), and (3) the
worksheet on page 11 (Community Obligations and Their Division). Sample forms showing how to fill out those
worksheets are on pages 6, 8, and 10.



PETITIONER 1: Sam CASE NUMBER:

PETITIONER 2: Alex

VI. SAMPLE WORKSHEET FOR DETERMINING VALUE OF
SEPARATE PROPERTY

This worksheet will help you determine whether you are eligible to use the summary dissolution procedure. The total fair
market value of the separate property of one spouse/domestic partner cannot be more than $57,000. The total fair
market value of the separate property of the other spouse/domestic partner cannot be more than $57,000. Separate
property is anything that either of you owned or earned before you got married or registered your domestic partnership,
anything you earned or bought after your separation, and anything that was given to just one of you as a gift during your
marriage or domestic partnership. Do not include cars.

Note: The information on this form is for an imaginary couple, Sam and Alex, who are married. (When you fill out your
worksheet, use your own information.)

. . . Sam's Alex's
A. Bank accounts, credit union accounts, retirement funds, cash Property Property:
value of insuran lici . N N
alue of insurance policies, etc Fair Market Fair Market
Item Value Value
Credit union savings—Sam (before marriage) $420.00
Savings bonds—Alex (bought before marriage) $250.00
Retirement plan—Sam (before marriage and after separation) $1,500.00
Retirement plan—Alex (before marriage and after separation) $1,300.00
B. Items owned outright
Item
Clothes—Sam (bought before marriage) $350.00
Stocks—Sam (birthday present from father) $375.00
Furniture—Sam (owned before marriage) $460.00
Camera—Alex (owned before marriage) $229.00
Smartwatch—Alex (bought after separation) $142.00
Clothes—Alex (bought after separation) $250.00
C. Items being bought on credit
Item Fair Market Minus Net Fair
Value Amount = Market
Owed Value
Television—Sam (after separation) $400.00 $350.00 $50.00 $50.00
Clothes—Sam (after separation) $220.00 $170.00 $50.00 $50.00
GRAND TOTALS: $3,205.00 $2,171.00
Sam and Alex A B
SEPARATE PROPERTY




PETITIONER 1:
PETITIONER 2:

CASE NUMBER:

VI. WORKSHEET FOR DETERMINING VALUE OF

SEPARATE PROPERTY

This worksheet will help you determine whether you are eligible to use the summary dissolution procedure. The total fair
market value of the separate property of one spouse/domestic partner cannot be more than $57,000. The total fair
market value of the separate property of the other spouse/domestic partner cannot be more than $57,000. Separate
property is anything that either of you owned or earned before you got married or registered your domestic partnership,
anything you earned or bought after your separation, and anything that was given to just one of you as a gift during your

marriage or domestic partnership. Do not include cars.

. . . PETITIONER 1 PETITIONER 2
A. Bank accounts, credit union accounts, retirement funds, cash
. . . Property— Property—
value of insurance policies, etc. . )
Fair Market Fair Market
Item Value (FMV) Value (FMV)
B. Items owned outright
Item
C. Items being bought on credit
Item Fair Market Minus Net Fair
Value Amount = Market
Owed Value
GRAND TOTALS:

PETITIONER 1'S AND PETITIONER 2'S
SEPARATE PROPERTY
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PETITIONER 1: Sam

PETITIONER 2: Alex

CASE NUMBER:

VI. SAMPLE WORKSHEET FOR DETERMINING VALUE AND
DIVISION OF COMMUNITY PROPERTY

Note: The information on this form is for an imaginary couple, Sam and Alex, who are married. (When you fill out your worksheet, use

your information.)

This side of the sheet will help you determine whether you are

eligible to use the summary dissolution procedure. The grand total
value of your community property cannot be more than $57,000.

This side of the sheet will help you
decide on a fair division of your property.
It will help you prepare your property

settlement agreement.

A. Bank accounts, credit union accounts, retirement funds, cash value

of insurance policies, etc.

Sam Alex
Item Amount Receives Receives
Home Savings Credit Union savings account $150.00 $150.00
Life insurance (cash value) $250.00 $250.00
Retirement Plan—Sam $600.00 $600.00
Retirement Plan—Alex $500.00 $500.00
Home Savings Credit Union checking account $180.00 $180.00
Subtotal A $1,680.00 $1,000.00 $680.00
B. Items you own outright (for example, stocks and bonds,
sports gear, furniture, household items, tools, interests in
i j X not include cars
businesses, jewelry; do ) Fair Market Sam Alex
Item Value Receives Receives
Furniture & furnishings— Sam’s apartment $775.00 $775.00
Furniture & furnishings—Alex's apartment $300.00 $300.00
Terriers season tickets $285.00 $285.00
Savings bonds $200.00 $200.00
Jewelry—Sam $200.00 $200.00
Pet parrot and cage $40.00 $40.00
Subtotal B $1,800.00 $1,175.00 $625.00
C. Items you are buying on credit (for example, audio equipment,
appliances, furniture, tools; do not include cars)
Item Fair Market Minus Net Fair
Value Amount = Market Sam Alex
Owed Value Receives Receives
Home entertainment system $305.00 $150.00 $155.00 $155.00
Television $400.00 $100.00 $300.00 $300.00
Golf clubs $350.00 $50.00 $300.00 $300.00
Grand total value of Subtotal C $755.00 $0.00 $755.00
communi roperty=A+B+C
ty property $4,235.00 I $2,175.00 $2,060.00




PETITIONER 1:

PETITIONER 2:

CASE NUMBER:

VI. WORKSHEET FOR DETERMINING VALUE AND

DIVISION OF COMMUNITY PROPERTY

This side of the sheet will help you determine whether you are
eligible to use the summary dissolution procedure. The grand total
value of your community property cannot be more than $57,000.

This side of the sheet will help you
decide on a fair division of your property.
It will help you prepare your property
settlement agreement.

A. Bank accounts, credit union accounts, retirement funds, cash value
f insuran lici .
of insurance policies, etc PETITIONER 1 PETITIONER 2
Item Amount Receives Receives
Subtotal A
B. Items you own outright (for example, stocks and bonds,
sports gear, furniture, household items, tools, interests in
businesses, jewelry; do not include cars) .
Fair Market PETITIONER 1 PETITIONER 2
Item Value Receives Receives
Subtotal B
C. Items you are buying on credit (for example, audio equipment,
appliances, furniture, tools; do not include cars)
Item Fair Market Minus Net Fair
Value Amount = Market PETITIONER 1 PETITIONER 2
Owed Value Receives Receives
Subtotal C

Grand total value of

community property=A+B+C




PETITIONER 1: Sam
PETITIONER 2: Alex

CASE NUMBER:

VI. SAMPLE WORKSHEET FOR DETERMINING COMMUNITY OBLIGATIONS

AND THEIR DIVISION

Note: The information on this form is for an imaginary couple, Sam and Alex, who are married. (When you fill out your worksheet, use
your own information and make sure you indicate if you are married, in a domestic partnership, or both.)

This side of the worksheet will help you determine whether you

are eligible to use the summary dissolution procedure. The total
amount of your community obligations (debts) cannot be more than
$7,000. Do not include car loans. Be sure you include any other debts
you took on while you were living together as spouses or domestic
partners. List the amount you owe on the items from your Worksheet
for Determining Value and Division of Community Property. Then
add all other debts and bills, including loans, charge accounts, medical
bills, and taxes you owe.

This side of the worksheet will help
you decide on a fair way to divide up
your community obligations. You will
use this information in preparing a
property settlement agreement.

Amount Sam Alex
Item Owed Will Pay Will Pay

Audio equipment $150.00 $150.00
Television $100.00 $100.00
Golf clubs $50.00 $50.00
Dr. R. C. Himple $74.00 $74.00
Richardson Drug Store $32.00 $32.00
College loan $500.00 $500.00
Cogwell's charge account $275.00 $275.00
Mister Charge account $68.00 $68.00
Green's Furniture $123.00 $123.00
Dr. S. Roberts $37.00 $37.00
Sam's parents $150.00 $150.00

TOTAL $1,559.00 $585.00 $974.00

-10-

Sam's Share
of Community
Obligations

Alex's Share
of Community
Obligations




PETITIONER 1: CASE NUMBER:
PETITIONER 2:

VI. WORKSHEET FOR DETERMINING COMMUNITY OBLIGATIONS AND THEIR DIVISION

This side of the worksheet will help you determine whether you This side of the worksheet will help
are eligible to use the summary dissolution procedure. The total you decide on a fair way to divide up
amount of your community obligations (debts) cannot be more than your community obligations. You will
$7,000. Do not include car loans. Be sure you include any other debts use this information in preparing a
you took on while you were living together as spouses or domestic property settlement agreement.
partners. List the amount you owe on the items from your Worksheet
for Determining Value and Division of Community Property. Then
add all other debts and bills, including loans, charge accounts, medical
bills, and taxes you owe.
Amount Petitioner 1 Petitioner 2
Item Owed Will Pay Will Pay
TOTAL
Petitioner 1 Petitioner 2
Share of Community Share of Community
Obligations Obligations
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VII. WHAT SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE PROPERTY SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT?

NOTE:
If after reviewing the community property worksheets on the previous pages you and your
spouse or domestic partner agree that you do not have community assets or liabilities, you
do not need to complete a property settlement agreement. Skip to page 16.

A property settlement agreement should contain at least five parts:

Preliminary Statement
This part identifies the spouses or domestic partners, states that the marriage and/or domestic partnership is being
ended, and states that both spouses or domestic partners agree on the details of the agreement.

Division of Community Property

This part has two sections:

1.  What the one spouse or domestic partner receives; and
2.  What the other spouse or domestic partner receives.

Division of Community Obligations

This part has two sections:

1. The amount one spouse or domestic partner must pay and to whom the amount must be paid.

2. The amount the other spouse or domestic partner must pay and to whom the amount must be paid.

Waiver of Spousal Support
This part states that each spouse or domestic partner gives up all rights of financial support from the other.

Date and Signature
Both spouses or domestic partners must write the date and sign the agreement.

An example of a property settlement agreement is found on pages 13-15.

-12-



VIil. SAMPLE PROPERTY SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT

Go to page 19 if you have questions about debt and liability, or potential bankruptcy, and want to find free
or low-cost legal help or hire a lawyer to prepare or review your property settlement agreement.

Below is a sample of an acceptable property settlement agreement. You may use it as a model for your own agreement
or you may complete another version of the agreement found at courts.ca.gov/documents/propagreement.pdf.

e The parts that are underlined will fit most cases. You can copy these parts for your own agreement. Since many of the
words have special meanings in the law, you may wish to talk to a lawyer if you want to change the words.

e The parts printed in regular type (not underlined) are based on an imaginary couple. You will need to replace these
parts with items that apply to your situation.

e The numbered notes in italics in the right-hand column or at the bottom of the page are not part of the agreement.
They are there to help you understand it. (Do not include the references to notes 1 and 2 in your agreement.)

e The sample below is for a married couple, so it refers to marriage. If you are ending a domestic partnership, you should
say that in your agreement. If you are ending both a marriage and a domestic partnership with the same person, say
both and write in the dates of both your marriage and the registration of your domestic partnership.

Remember e« You can divide the items any way you want (even if one of you receives more of the marital assets).
¢ As long as you both agree, the court will accept it.*
« If you cannot agree about the division of your property and debts, you should file a regular divorce.

SAMPLE PROPERTY SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT

i you prefer, you can also write "hereafter
l. We are Alex P. Smedlap, hereafter called Alex, and Sam T. called Spouse A [or Spouse B]" or
"hereafter called Partner A [or Partner BJ,"
whichever applies. Just make sure it is clear
2018, and separated on December 5, 2022. Because to whom you are referring.

Smedlap, hereafter called Sam'"’We were married on October 7,

irreconcilable differences"” have caused the permanent breakdown ° This means there are problems in your
marriage or domestic partnership that you
think can never be solved. Irreconcilable
once and for all what we owe to each other and what we can differences is the only legal grounds for
getting a summary dissolution.

of our marriage, we have made this agreement together to settle

expect from each other. Each of us states here that nothing has

been held back and that we have honestly included everything we

could think of in listing the money and goods that we own; and

each of us states here that we believe the other has been open

and honest in writing this agreement. Each of us agrees to sign

and exchange any papers that might be needed to complete this
agreement.

* See Family Code section 2550. At the trial in a regular dissolution, a judge would set a value on and divide community property
and debts into two approximately equal parts as provided by the Family Code.
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Each of us also understands that even after a Joint Petition for

Summary Dissolution is filed, this entire agreement will be canceled if

either of us revokes the dissolution proceedinq.3

Division of Community Propertv4

We divide our community property as follows:

1. Alex transfers to Sam as Sam's sole and separate property:

A

All household furniture and furnishings Igo_cated at the apartment
at 180 Needlepoint Way, San Francisco.

All rights to cash in savings account at Home Savings Credit Union.

All cash value in life insurance policy insuring life of Sam
through Sun Valley Life Insurance.

All retirement plan benefits earned by Sam during marriage.
Two U.S. Savings Bonds, Series E.

Sam’s jewelry.

. 2015 Chevrolet 4-door sedan.

2. Sam transfers to Alex as Alex's sole and separate property:

A

All household furniture and furnishings located at the apartment
on 222 Bond Street, San Francisco.

All retirement plan benefits earned by Alex during marriage.
Season tickets to Golden State Terriers basketball games.
Home entertainment system.

One set of golf clubs.

One television.

2014 Ford Explorer SUV.

One pet parrot named Nikki, plus cage and parrot food.

All rights to cash in checking account in Bank of America.

-14-

This means that the property agreement is
a part of the dissolution proceeding. If
either of you decides to stop the
dissolution proceeding by tuming in

Notice of Revocation of Petition for
Summary Dissolution (form FL-830) (see
page 18), this entire agreement will be
canceled.

Community property is property that you
own as a couple (see page 2).

If you have no community property,
replace Part Il with the simple statement
"We have no community property.”

If the fumiture and household goods in one
apartment are to be divided, they may have
to be listed item by item.



lIl.  Division of Community Property (Debts)®

1. Alex will pay the following debts and will not at any

time hold Sam responsible for them: ’

Mister Charge account.

Debt to Dr. R.C. Himple.

Debt to Richardson Drug Store.

Debt to UC Berkeley for college education loan to Alex.’
Debt to Golf Store for golf clubs.

Debt to Everything Electronics for TV and audio equipment.
Debt to Used Ford Store for 2014 Ford Explorer SUV.

®@mMmoow >

2. Sam will pay the following debts and will not at any time

hold Alex responsible for them:

Cogwell’'s charge account.
Debts to Sam'’s parents.
Debt to Green’s Furniture.
Debt to Dr. S. Roberts.

mo O w

Debt to Friendly Finance Company for 2015 Chevrolet 4-door Sedan.
IV.  Waiver of Spousal/Partner Support °

Each of us waives any claim for spousal/domestic partner support now and for all time.

V. Dated: Dated:

Alex P. Smedlap Sam T. Smedlap

® i you have no unpaid debts, replace Part Il with the statement "We have no unpaid community obligations."

! A challenge when dividing community debt is that a company you both owe money to, like a credit card company or mortgage
company, does not have to honor your agreement. If the person who agreed to pay the joint debt doesn't pay or misses a payment,
the company may seek payments from you both and it may hurt both of your credit ratings.

You may consider options other than splitting the joint debt, like (1) paying off the debt, if possible; (2) selling items to pay off the
debt; (3) taking out a line of credit to pay off the joint debt; or (4) having the person most able to pay the joint debt take over the
payments, but give them more property. For more information, go to: https://selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/divorce/property-debts.

Even though California is a community property state, if a spouse or domestic partner is not named on a student loan taken out
during a marriage or domestic partnership, and if the couple gets a divorce within 10 years of marriage or registration of the
domestic partnership, then the spouse or domestic partner who is not the student-borrower will usually not be responsible for

repaying the loan.

"Waives" means that you each give up the right to have your spouse or domestic partner support you financially.
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IX. WHAT STEPS DO YOU HAVE TO TAKE TO GET A SUMMARY DISSOLUTION?

If after reviewing the information in this booklet, you feel your marriage or your domestic partnership will qualify for a
summary dissolution, you should carefully go through the following 15 steps. You can fill out the forms, worksheets, and
agreements in the summary dissolution section

o online, for free, at selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/divorce-california/summary-dissolution/; or
e with neat printing.

1. ___ Complete and give your spouse or domestic partner a list of community and separate property assets and
obligations. This information is needed to comply with the requirement to exchange a preliminary declaration of
disclosure in summary dissolution cases. Use the forms listed below in 1a or 1b for this purpose.

a. ___ Declaration of Disclosure (form FL-140) and Schedule of Assets and Debts (form FL-142) (or a Property
Declaration (form FL-160)). These forms are not included in this booklet. You may find them online at
courts.ca.gov/forms.htm. Give one copy to your spouse or domestic partner and keep one for your
records; or

b. ___ The worksheets in this booklet on pages 7, 9, and 11.

(1) Turn to page 7 and complete the Worksheet for Determining Value of Separate Property.
See page 6 for an example. Make one extra copy of your worksheet after it has been
completed. Give one copy to your spouse or domestic partner and keep one for your records.

(2)___ Turn to page 9 and complete the Worksheet for Determining Value and Division of
Community Property. See page 8 for an example. Make one extra copy of your worksheet
after it has been completed. Give one copy to your spouse or domestic partner and keep
one for your records.

(3) —_ Turn to page 11 and complete the Worksheet for Determining Community Obligations and
Their Division. See page 10 for an example. Make one extra copy of your worksheet after it
has been completed. Give one copy to your spouse or domestic partner and keep one for
your records.

2. ___ Along with the documents listed in step 1, give your spouse or domestic partner all tax returns you filed in the
last two years. Give one copy to your spouse or domestic partner and keep one copy for your records.

3. ___ Fillout an Income and Expense Declaration (form FL-150). You each need to fill out this form and give it to your
spouse or domestic partner before you sign your property settlement agreement or complete your divorce. Make
one extra copy of your form after it has been completed. Give one copy to your spouse or partner and keep one
for your records.

4. ___ Complete a written statement about business and investments opportunities and give it to your spouse or
domestic partner before you sign a property settlement agreement or complete your divorce. Keep a copy for
your records.

Note: The written statement must describe any investment opportunity, business opportunity, or other
income-producing opportunity that developed since the date you separated which was based on any
investment made, significant business done, or other income-producing opportunity that was presented
to you between the date you married or became domestic partners and the date you separated (there
is no specific form for this purpose).

5. ___ Do you have community assets or debts?

a. ___ Yes. Complete your property settlement agreement. Both of you must date and sign it. Make two extra
copies. See pages 12—15 for an example and instructions.
Note: You can find a version of a property settlement agreement that you can fill out online at:
courts.ca.gov/documents/propagreement. pdf

b. ___ No. Check box 13a on Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-800) if you have no community
assets or liabilities. No separate agreement is needed, but you must complete steps 1 through 4 above.
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I

12

13

14___
15

16

Fill out a Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-800). Both of you must sign and date this petition.
Make two extra copies of this form. (This is the form you need to START the process.)

Note: When signing your joint petition and your property settlement agreement, you are signing these documents
under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California, which is the same as being swom to testify in
court. You may not sign each other's name.

Make three sets of forms that include copies of your property settlement agreement and a copy of your Joint
Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-800).

Fill out the Judgment of Dissolution and Notice of Entry of Judgment (form FL-825) as noted below and make
three copies of it.

a. ___ Fill out the caption (top part of the judgment form).
b. ___ Check item 1b or 1c if either of you wants your name restored. Specify the name to be restored.
¢c. ___ Fillin the address of Petitioner 1 and Petitioner 2 on page 2.

If you have a property settlement agreement, staple it to the Judgment (form FL-825). Make three sets.

Make one extra copy of a blank Notice of Revocation of Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-830) so each
of you has one, and hold on to it. This is the form you would need to STOP the process. You may wish to use it
during the waiting period if you change your mind and want to stop the process. You should keep one copy. See
page 18 for more information.

Take your Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-800), Judgment of Dissolution and Notice of Entry of
Judgment (form FL-825), and all of your copies to the superior court clerk's office together with two self-
addressed, stamped envelopes (one addressed to each spouse or domestic partner). The location of your
superior court clerk's office can be found in the phone book or online at courts.ca.gov/find-my-court.htm.

The clerk will stamp the date on all copies, will keep one copy of each document, and will return the other two
to you. One copy is for each spouse or domestic partner.

Pay the superior court clerk's filing fee. If you cannot afford to pay the filing fee, you may qualify for a fee waiver
based on your income. If one of you qualifies for a fee waiver but the other one does not, the one who does not
qualify will have to pay the filing fee. To request a fee waiver, see Information Sheet on Waiver of Court Fees
and Costs (form FW-001-INFO). You will need to prepare a Request to Waive Court Fees (form FW-001) and an
Order on Court Fee Waiver (form FW-003).

The clerk will file your joint petition and return the copies to you and your spouse or partner. The court may also
process the Judgment of Dissolution at that time, in the next few weeks, or after the six-month waiting period has
expired and give or mail it to you and your spouse or domestic partner. The Judgment of Dissolution and Notice
of Entry of Judgment (form FL-825) will have a date on which the dissolution ending your marriage, domestic
partnership, or both will be final. That is the effective date of your dissolution and it will be six months from the
date you file your joint petition. The six-month waiting period is mandated by law.

Put your copies of all documents in a safe place.

Wait for six months. If either one of you wants to stop the summary dissolution case, fill out and file a Notice of
Revocation of Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-830) before the six months run out.

On the day that appears on your Judgment of Dissolution and Notice of Entry of Judgment (form FL-825) as the

effective date of your dissolution:

a.  Your marriage or domestic partnership (or both) is ended;

b. The agreements you made in your property settlement agreement are binding—you will then own the
property assigned to you, and you will have to pay the bills assigned to you;

¢c.  Except for those agreements, you and your spouse or domestic partner have no further obligations to
each other; and

d. You are legally free to remarry or register a new domestic partnership.

REMEMBER: Either of you can stop the process by filling out a Notice of Revocation of Petition for Summary Dissolution
(form FL-830) and bringing it to the superior court clerk during the six-month waiting period before the date your
dissolution is effective according to the Judgment of Dissolution and Notice of Entry of Judgment (form FL-825) that you
received from the court.
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X. WHAT YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT REVOCATION

It is important to realize that the Notice of Revocation of Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-830) is not just
another form you are supposed to fill out and turn in.

Do not fill it out and do not bring it to the superior court clerk unless you want to stop the divorce!

What is the notice of revocation for?
This is the form you need if you want to stop the divorce. Revoking the agreement is canceling or stopping it.

What reasons are there for revoking?

There are three reasons you might have for wanting to stop the summary dissolution:
1. You have decided to return to your spouse or domestic partner and continue the marriage or domestic partnership;
2. You want to change over to the regular dissolution as a better way of getting your divorce; or
3. You learn that one of you is pregnant.

Why might you want to change over to the regular dissolution?

You may come to believe that you will get a better settlement if you go to court than with the agreement you originally
made with your spouse or domestic partner. (Maybe, after thinking it over, you feel you are not receiving a fair share
of the community property.)

How do you do it?

At the time you picked up the joint petition forms, you and your spouse or partner also received a blank Notice of
Revocation of Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-830). Fill out the form, sign it, make two copies, and bring them
to the superior court clerk’s office. You must also send a copy of form FL-830 to your spouse or domestic partner by
first-class mail, postage prepaid, to his or her last known address. You can do this alone. This form does not need your
spouse's or partner's signature.

If you do this at any time during the six-month waiting period, before the effective date of your dissolution, you will stop
this divorce proceeding.

Can the dissolution be stopped once the waiting period is over?

NO. After the date the court wrote on your Judgment of Dissolution and Notice of Entry of Judgment (form FL-825) as the
date your marriage or domestic partnership is ended (the date the divorce is effective), you can no longer revoke the
dissolution by filing the revocation form. You may have other legal options, but you will need to talk to a lawyer about
them.

If you change over to a regular dissolution, what happens to the part of the waiting period that has passed?You
can apply the amount of time you waited on the summary dissolution to your regular dissolution. For example, if four
months went by before you decided to revoke the summary dissolution, the waiting period for the regular dissolution will
be shortened by four months.

However, you can save this time only if you file for a regular dissolution within 90 days of revoking the summary
dissolution.
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XIl. SHOULD YOU SEE A LAWYER?

Must you have a lawyer to use the summary dissolution procedure?
No. You can do the whole thing by yourselves. But it would be wise to see a lawyer before you decide to do it yourselves.
You should not rely on this booklet only. It is not intended to take the place of a lawyer.

If you want legal advice, does that mean you have to hire a lawyer?

No. You may hire a lawyer, of course, but you can also just visit a lawyer once or twice for advice on how to carry out the
dissolution proceeding. Do not be afraid to ask the lawyer in advance what fee will be charged. It may be surprisingly
inexpensive to have a lawyer review your papers, help you with a part of your divorce, or handle all of your divorce.

Do you have to accept your lawyer’s advice?
No, you do not. And if you are not pleased with what one lawyer advises, you can feel free to go to another one.

How can a lawyer help you with the summary dissolution procedure?
First, a lawyer can advise you, on the basis of your personal situation, whether you ought to use the regular dissolution
procedure rather than the summary dissolution procedure.

Second, a lawyer can read your property settlement agreement to help you figure out if you have thought of everything
you should have. (It is easy to forget things you do not see very often, such as savings bonds and safe deposit boxes.)

Third, in many situations it is not easy to figure out what should count as community property and what should count as
separate property. Suppose one of you had money before the marriage (or domestic partnership) and put it into a bank
account in both of your names and then both of you used money from that account. It may not be easy to decide how the
money remaining in that account should be divided. A lawyer can advise you on how to make these decisions..

Fourth, there may be special situations in which your property settlement is not covered by the sample agreement on
pages 13—15 or the fillable agreement online.

A lawyer can help you put the agreement in words that are legally precise and cannot be challenged or misinterpreted
later.

Where can you find a lawyer?

You can locate organizations that can help you find a lawyer online or in your telephone directory under "Attorneys,"
"Attorney Referral Service," or "Lawyer Referral Service." In many cases you will be able to find an attorney who will
charge only a small fee for your first visit.

You can find information about free or low-cost services through the county bar association in your county. The
California Lawyer's Association website calawyers.org/bar-relations/california-bar-associations-and-organizations/.
can help you find bar associations in your county.

You can find information about certified lawyer referral services on the Self-Help Guide to California Courts at
selfhelp.courts.ca.gov/getting-legal-help.

You can also find information about certified lawyer referral services at the State Bar website www.calbar.ca.gov.
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XIl. SOME GENERAL INFORMATION

What about income taxes?
If you have filed a joint tax return, both of you will still be responsible for paying any unpaid taxes even after your divorce.

If you are receiving a tax refund, you should agree in the property settlement agreement on how it should be divided.

The amount of money that you will owe, or that will be taken out of your paycheck, for income taxes may be greater after
you are single again. If that is the case, you should prepare yourself for a bigger tax obligation.

It would be a good idea to consult the Internal Revenue Service or a tax expert on how the divorce is going to affect your
taxes. You should probably do this before you make your property settlement agreement.

What about bank accounts and credit cards?
If you have a joint bank account, it may be a good idea to close it when you separate and get two individual bank
accounts. That way it will be easier to keep your money separate.

If you have credit card accounts that you both have been using, you should destroy the cards and take out separate
accounts.

What about cars?

If both of your names are on a title to a car and you agree that one of you is going to own the car, you need to take action
to change the ownership. You should call or visit the Department of Motor Vehicles to find out how to do that. You should
also talk to the lender to get the debt into one person's name and change the insurance coverage after both the title and
debt are transferred.

What if your spouse or domestic partner does not pay the debts as agreed?

If your spouse or domestic partner does not pay a debt as agreed, the person who loaned the money may be able to
collect it from you. But then a court may order your spouse or domestic partner to reimburse you. If you have any reason
to worry about this, a lawyer can explain your rights to you.

Can you take back your former name?

If you changed your name when you were married or registered your domestic partnership, you have the right to give up
that name and get your former name back. You can do this by requesting it in the joint petition. If you do not request this
in the joint petition, you can file a form called Ex Parte Application for Restoration of Former Name After Entry of
Judgment and Order (form FL-395). Your spouse or partner cannot make you change your name.

What if | am not happy with my final judgment?

When your divorce is final, all your rights and duties connected with your marriage or domestic partnership have ended
and you cannot appeal. But if you decide later that you were cheated or pressured by your spouse or domestic partner,
or if you believe that a mistake was made in the paperwork connected with the divorce, the court may be able to set
aside the divorce. A lawyer can explain your rights.
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FL-150

PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY OR ATTORNEY STATE BAR NUMBER: FOR COURT USE ONLY
NAME:

FIRM NAME:

STREET ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:

TELEPHONE NO.: FAXNO.:

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

ATTORNEY FOR (name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:
CITY AND ZIP CODE:
BRANCH NAME:

PETITIONER:
RESPONDENT:
OTHER PARTY/PARENT/CLAIMANT:

INCOME AND EXPENSE DECLARATION

CASE NUMBER:

1. Employment (Give information on your current job or, if you're unemployed, your most recent job.)

Attach copies | a. Employer:

of your pay b. Employer's address:

stubs for last c. Employer's phone number:

two months d. Occupation:

(black out e. Date job started:

Social f. If unemployed, date job ended:

Security g. | work about hours per week.

numbers). h. Igetpaid $ gross (before taxes) :I per month :I per week :I per hour.

(If you have more than one job, attach an 8 1/2-by-11-inch sheet of paper and list the same information as above for your other
jobs. Write "Question 1—Other Jobs" at the top.)

2. Age and education
a. My age is (specify):

b. | have completed high school or the equivalent: ] Yes [ No If no, highest grade completed (specify):
c. Number of years of college completed (specify): [ Degree(s) obtained (specify):

d. Number of years of graduate school completed (specify): () Degree(s) obtained (specify):
e.

| have: :I professional/occupational license(s) (specify):
:I vocational training (specify):
3. Tax information
a. [ !last filed taxes for tax year (specify year):
b. My taxfiling statusis ~ [_] single =[] head of household [_] married, filing separately
(] married, filing jointly with (specify name):
c. | file state tax returns in (] california  [_] other (specify state):
d. | claim the following number of exemptions (including myself) on my taxes (specify):

4. Other party's income. | estimate the gross monthly income (before taxes) of the other party in this case at (specify): $
This estimate is based on (explain):
(If you need more space to answer any questions on this form, attach an 8 1/2-by-11-inch sheet of paper and write the

question number before your answer.) Number of pages attached:

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information contained on all pages of this form and
any attachments is true and correct.

Date:
(TYPE OR PRINT NAME) (SIGNATURE OF DECLARANT)
Page 1 of 4
Form Adopted for Mandatory Use INCOME AND EXPENSE DECLARATION Family Code, §§ 2030-2032, 2100-2113,
Judicial Council of California 3552, 36203634, 4050-4076, 4300-4339

FL-150 [Rev. September 1, 2024] www.courts.ca.gov



FL-150

OTH

PETITIONER: CASE NUMBER:
RESPONDENT:
ER PARTY/PARENT/CLAIMANT:

Attach copies of your pay stubs for the last two months and proof of any other income. Take a copy of your latest federal tax
return to the court hearing. (Black out your Social Security number on the pay stub and tax return.)

5. Income (For average monthly, add up all the income you received in each category in the last 12 months
and divide the total by 12.)

_xXT oS o 0O 0 T

. Salary or wages (gross, before taxes) ... $
. Overtime (gross, before taxes) ... ... $
. COMMISSIONS OF DONUSES ... oo $
. Public assistance (for example: TANF, SSI, GA/GR) [ currently receiving ... $
. Spousal support [_] from this marriage [_] from a different marriage [_] federally taxable* $
Partner support [_] from this domestic partnership [_] from a different domestic partnership $
. Pension/retirement fund payments . .. $
. Social Security retirement (N0t SSI) e $
Disability:  [_] Social Security (not SSI) [] State disability (SDI) [} Private insurance $
Unemployment COMPENSAtION ... e $
. Workers' COmpPensation $
Other (military allowances, royalty payments) (SpPecCify): ... $

Last month

Average
monthly

6. Investment income (Attach a schedule showing gross receipts less cash expenses for each piece of property.)

a. DIVIdeNdS/INtereSt e $
b. Rental property INCOME ..o $
C. TIUSE INCOME e $
. O NEE (SPOCIIY): oo $
7. Income from self-employment, after business expenses for all businesses ... ... ... .. $

| am the D owner/sole proprietor :I business partner :I other (specify):
Number of years in this business (specify):

Name of business (specify):

Type of business (specify):

Attach a profit and loss statement for the last two years or a Schedule C from your last federal tax return. Black out your
Social Security number. If you have more than one business, provide the information above for each of your businesses.

8. [] Additional income. | received one-time money (lottery winnings, inheritance, etc.) in the last 12 months (specify source and

9. [ Change in income. My financial situation has changed significantly over the last 12 months because (specify):

10. Deductions Last month
a. ReqQUITEd UNION AUES ... oo O
b. Required retirement payments (not Social Security, FICA, 401(K), or IRA) . e s
c. Medical, hospital, dental, and other health insurance premiums (total monthly amount) ... ... $
d. Child support that | pay for children from other relationships ... s
e. Spousal support that | pay by court order from a different marriage [__] federally tax deductible* ...
f.  Partner support that | pay by court order from a different domestic partnership ... $
g. Necessary job-related expenses not reimbursed by my employer (attach explanation labeled "Question 10g9") ... $

11. Assets
a. Cash and checking accounts, savings, credit union, money market, and other deposit accounts ... §
b. Stocks, bonds, and other assets | could easily Sell ... ... e s
c. All other property, D real and D personal (estimate fair market value minus the debts you owe) ... s

amount):

* Check the box if the spousal support order or judgment was executed by the parties and the court before January 1, 2019, or if a court-ordered change
maintains the spousal support payments as taxable income to the recipient and tax deductible to the payor.

FL-150 [Rev. September 1, 2024] INCOME AND EXPENSE DECLARATION

Page 2 of 4



FL-150

PETITIONER:
RESPONDENT:

OTHER PARTY/PARENT/CLAIMANT:

CASE NUMBER:

12. The following people live with me:

How the person is
related to me (ex: son)

That person's gross
monthly income

Pays some of the
household expenses?

A Yes [ No
A yes [ No
A Yes [ No
A Yes [ No
A vYes [No

() Estimated expenses [_] Actual expenses

h. Laundry and cleaning

Clothes
j- Education

k. Entertainment, gifts, and vacation
. Auto expenses and transportation
(insurance, gas, repairs, bus, etc.)

.............. $

(] Proposed needs

m. Insurance (life, accident, etc.; do not include

Name Age
a.
b.
C.
d.
e.
13. Average monthly expenses
a. Home:
(1) 2 Rentor [] mortgage ... $
If mortgage:
(a) average principal: $
(b) average interest: $
(2) Real property taxes ... $
(8) Homeowner's or renter's insurance
(if not included above) ... $
(4) Maintenance and repair ... $

. Child care

Q@ 0o o O T

14. Installment payments and debts not listed above

. Health-care costs not paid by insurance .. $
....................................................................... $
. Groceries and household supplies ...
. Eating out

Utilities (gas, electric, water, trash)
. Telephone, cell phone, and e-mail

auto, home, or health insurance)
n. Savings and investments
0. Charitable contributions
p. Monthly payments listed in item 14

(itemize below in 14 and insert total here) $

$

g. Other (Specify): . $

r. TOTAL EXPENSES (a-q) (do not add in
the amounts in a(1)(a) and (b)) $

s. Amount of expenses paid by others $

Paid to For Amount Balance Date of last payment
$ $
$ $
$ $
$ $
$ $
$ $
15. Attorney fees (This information is required if either party is requesting attorney fees.):
a. To date, | have paid my attorney this amount for fees and costs (specify): $
b. The source of this money was (specify):
c. | still owe the following fees and costs to my attorney (specify total owed): $
d. My attorney's hourly rate is (specify):
| confirm this fee arrangement.
Date:
(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF ATTORNEY) (SIGNATURE OF ATTORNEY)

FL-150 [Rev. September 1, 2024]

INCOME AND EXPENSE DECLARATION
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FL-150

PETITIONER: CASE NUMBER:
RESPONDENT:
OTHER PARTY/PARENT/CLAIMANT:

CHILD SUPPORT INFORMATION
(NOTE: Fill out this page only if your case involves child support.)

16. Number of children
a. | have (specify number): children under the age of 18 with the other parent in this case.
b. The children spend percent of their time with me and percent of their time with the other parent.
(If you're not sure about percentage or it has not been agreed on, please describe your parenting schedule here.)

17. Children's health-care expenses
a.[Q1do [ !donot have health insurance available to me for the children through my job.
b. Name of insurance company:
c. Address of insurance company:

d. The monthly cost for the children's health insurance is or would be (specify): $
(Do not include the amount your employer pays.)

18. Additional expenses for the children in this case Amount per month
a. Child care so | can work or get job training ... $
b. Children's health care not covered by insurance ... ... $
c. Travel expenses for visitation ... .. $
d. Children's educational or other special needs (specify below): ... ... $

19. Special hardships. | ask the court to consider the following special financial circumstances
(attach documentation of any item listed here, including court orders):

Amount per month For how many months?

a. Extraordinary health expenses not included in 18b ... ... $
b. Major losses not covered by insurance (examples: fire, theft, other

INSUIEA OSS)  .ooooo oo $
c. (1) Expenses for my minor children who are from other relationships and

are living With Me $
(2) Names and ages of those children (specify):
(3) Child support | receive for those children ... .. $

The expenses listed in a, b and c create an extreme financial hardship because (explain):

20. Other information | want the court to know concerning support in my case (specify):

FL-150 [Rev. September 1, 2024] INCOME AND EXPENSE DECLARATION Page 4 of 4



FL-800

PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY OR ATTORNEY: STATE BAR NO: FOR COURT USE ONLY
NAME:

FIRM NAME:

STREET ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE;
TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO.:

EMAIL ADDRESS:

ATTORNEY FOR (Name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:
MAILING ADDRESS:
CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:
MARRIAGE OR DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP OF
PETITIONER 1:
PETITIONER 2:
JOINT PETITION FOR SUMMARY DISSOLUTION CASE NUMBER:
] MARRIAGE (] DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP

We petition for a summary dissolution of marriage, registered domestic partnership, or both and declare that all the following
conditions exist on the date this petition is filed with the court:

1. We have read and understand the Summary Dissolution Information booklet (form FL-810).
2. a. [ We were married on (date):
b. [L] We registered as domestic partners on (date):

) We separated on (date):

Less than five years have passed between the date of our marriage and/or registration of our domestic partnership and the date of

our separation.

5. a. [] One of us has lived in California for at least six months and in the county of filing for at least the three months preceding
the date of filing. Or we are only asking to end a domestic partnership registered in California.

b. [ We are the same sex and were married in California but are not residents of California. Neither of us lives in a place that

will allow us to divorce. We are filing this case in the county in which we married.

6. There are no minor children who were born of our relationship before or during our marriage or domestic partnership or adopted by

us during our marriage or domestic partnership. Neither one of us, to our knowledge, is pregnant.

7. Neither of us has an interest in any real property anywhere. (You may have a lease for a residence in which one of you lives. It

must terminate within a year from the date of filing this petition. The lease must not include an option to purchase.)

8. Except for obligations with respect to cars, on obligations incurred by either or both of us during our marriage or domestic
partnership, we owe no more than $7,000.

9. The total fair market value of community property assets, not including what we owe on those assets and not including cars, is less

than $57,000.

10. Neither of us has separate property assets, not including what we owe on those assets and not including cars, in excess of
$57,000.

11. We each have filled out and given the other an Income and Expense Declaration (form FL-150).

12. We have complied with the preliminary disclosure requirements as follows:

a. We each have disclosed information about the value and division of our property by filling out and giving each other copies of

the documents listed in (1) or (2) below (specify):
(1) L] The worksheets on pages 7, 9, and 11 of the Summary Dissolution Information booklet (form FL-810).
(2) L A Declaration of Disclosure (form_FL-140), a Schedule of Assets and Debts (form FL-142), or Property Declaration
(form_FL-160), and all attachments to these forms.
b. We have told each other in writing about any investment, business, or other income-producing opportunities that came up
after we were separated based on investments made or work done during the marriage or domestic partnership and before
our separation.

c. We have exchanged all tax returns each of us has filed within the two years before disclosing the information described in 12a.

Page 1 of 2
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FL-800

PETITIONER 1: CASE NUMBER:

PETITIONER 2:

13. (Check whichever statement is true.)
a. [ We have no community assets or liabilities.
b. (L] We have signed an agreement listing and dividing all our community assets and liabilities and have signed all the
papers necessary to carry out our agreement. A copy of our agreement is attached to the Judgment of Dissolution and
Notice of Entry of Judgment (form FL-825).
14. Irreconcilable differences have caused the irremediable breakdown of our marriage and/or domestic partnership, and each of us
wishes to have the court dissolve our marriage and/or domestic partnership without our appearing before a judge.
15. a. DPetitioner 1 desires to have a former name restored. That name is (specify):

b. DPetitioner 2 desires to have a former name restored. That name is (specify):
16. We each give up our rights to appeal and to move for a new trial after the effective date of our Judgment of Dissolution.

17. Each of us forever gives up any right to spousal or domestic partner support from the other.

18. We each agree to keep the court and each other informed of any change of mailing address or phone number occurring within six
months from the filing of this joint petition using the Notice of Change of Address or Other Contact Information (form MC-040).

19. We are submitting the original and three copies of the proposed Judgment of Dissolution and Notice of Entry of Judgment (form
FL-825) and two stamped envelopes together with this petition. One envelope is addressed to Petitioner 1 and the other to

Petitioner 2.
20. We agree that this matter may be determined by a commissioner sitting as a temporary judge.
21. Mailing address of Petitioner 1 22. Mailing address of Petitioner 2

Name: Name:

Address: Address:

City: City:

State: State:

Zip Code: Zip Code:
23. Number of pages attached:
| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State | declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State
of California that the foregoing and all attached documents are of California that the foregoing and all attached documents are
true and correct. true and correct.
Date: Date:

(SIGNATURE OF PETITIONER 1) (SIGNATURE OF PETITIONER 2)
NOTICES

Your marriage and/or domestic partnership will end six months from the date of filing this joint petition. Both petitioners
will receive a stamped copy from the court of the Judgment of Dissolution and Notice of Entry of Judgment (form FL-825)
stating the effective date of your dissolution. Until the effective date specified on form FL-825 for the dissolution of your
marriage and/or domestic partnership, either one of you can stop this joint petition by filing a Notice of Revocation of
Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-830). If you stop this joint petition, you will STILL be married or in a domestic
partnership.

Dissolution may automatically cancel the rights of a spouse or domestic partner under the other spouse’s or domestic partner’s will,
trust, retirement plan, power of attorney, pay-on-death bank account, transfer-on-death vehicle registration, survivorship rights to any
property owned in joint tenancy, and any other similar instrument. It does not automatically cancel the rights of a spouse or domestic
partner as beneficiary of the other spouse’s or domestic partner's life insurance policy. You should review these matters, as well as
any credit card accounts, other credit accounts, insurance policies, and credit reports to determine whether they should be changed
or whether you should take any other actions. However, some changes may require the agreement of your spouse or domestic
partner or a court order. (See Fam. Code, §§ 231-235.)

FL-800 [Rev. April 28, 2025] JOINT PETITION FOR SUMMARY DISSOLUTION Page 2 of 2
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FL-825

PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY OR ATTORNEY (Name, State Bar number, and address): FOR COURT USE ONLY

TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO. (Optional) :
E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional):
ATTORNEY FOR (Name):
SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:
MARRIAGE OR DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP OF

PETITIONER 1:

PETITIONER 2:

CASE NUMBER:

JUDGMENT OF DISSOLUTION AND NOTICE OF ENTRY OF JUDGMENT
(] MARRIAGE [_] DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP

Use this form ONLY if the Joint Petition for Summary Dissolution (form FL-800) was filed after January 1, 2011. If the Joint Petition for
Summary Dissolution was filed before January 1, 2011, use Request for Judgment, Judgment of Dissolution, and Notice of Entry of
Judgment (form FL-820) instead.

1. THE COURT ORDERS
a. A judgment of dissolution of marriage and/or domestic partnership will be entered, and the parties are restored to the status of
single persons, effective (date): ’

b. [] The former name of Petitioner 1 is restored (specify):
c. [ The former name of Petitioner 2 is restored (specify):

Both petitioners must comply with any agreement attached to this judgment.

Date:

JUDICIAL OFFICER

NOTICE: Dissolution may automatically cancel the rights of a spouse or domestic partner under the other spouse or domestic
partner's will, trust, retirement benefit plan, power of attorney, pay-on-death bank account, transfer-on-death vehicle registration,
survivorship rights to any property owned in joint tenancy, and any other similar instrument. It does not automatically cancel the
rights of a spouse or domestic partner as beneficiary of the other spouse’s or domestic partner's life insurance policy. You should
review these matters, as well as any credit cards, other credit accounts, insurance policies, retirement benefit plans, and credit
reports to determine whether they should be changed or whether you should take any other actions.

NOTICE OF ENTRY OF JUDGMENT

2. You are notified that a judgment of dissolution of

a. [_] marriage
b. [] domestic partnership

was entered on (date):

Date: Clerk, by , Deputy

The date the judgment of dissolution is entered is NOT the date your divorce or termination of your domestic partnership is final.
For the effective date of the dissolution of your marriage and/or domestic partnership, see the date in item 1a.

Page 1 of 2
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PETITIONER 1:

PETITIONER 2:

CASE NUMBER:

CLERK’S CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

| certify that | am not a party to this cause and that a true copy of the Judgment of Dissolution and Notice of Entry of Judgment was
mailed first class, postage fully prepaid, in a sealed envelope addressed as shown below, and that the notice was mailed

at (place): California,
on (date):
Date: Clerk, by , Deputy
ADDRESS OF PETITIONER 1 ADDRESS OF PETITIONER 2
FL-825 [New January 1, 2012] JUDGMENT OF DISSOLUTION AND Page 2 of 2

NOTICE OF ENTRY OF JUDGMENT

(Family Law—Summary Dissolution)



FL-830

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY: STATE BAR NO: FOR COURT USE ONLY
NAME:
FIRM NAME:
STREET ADDRESS:
CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:
TELEPHONE NO.: FAXNO.:
E-MAIL ADDRESS:
ATTORNEY FOR (Name):
SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:
CITY AND ZIP CODE:
BRANCH NAME:
MARRIAGE OR DOMESTIC PARTNERSHIP OF
Petitioner 1
Petitioner 2

CASE NUMBER:

NOTICE OF REVOCATION OF JOINT PETITION
FOR SUMMARY DISSOLUTION

Notice is given that the undersigned terminates the summary dissolution proceedings and revokes the Joint Petition for Summary
Dissolution (form FL-800) filed on (date):

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME) (SIGNATURE OF DECLARANT)

Complete this notice. Submit the original and two copies to the court clerk's office. If the effective date of the judgment has not yet
occurred, the clerk will notify you that this notice of revocation has been filed by completing the certificate below.

Name and address of Petitioner 1 Name and address of Petitioner 2

o S o

L B I ]

CLERK'S CERTIFICATE OF MAILING (For court use only)

| certify that | am not a party to this cause and that a copy of the foregoing was mailed first class, postage fully prepaid, in a sealed
envelope as shown above, and that the mailing of the foregoing and execution of this certificate occurred at

(place): California, on
Date: Clerk, by , Deputy
NOTICE

If the clerk's certificate of mailing above has been dated and signed by the clerk, this summary dissolution case is ended.
You are still married and/or domestic partners. If you still want to get divorced, you will have to file a regular divorce case
using the Petition—Marriage/Domestic Partnership (form FL-100).

Page 1 of 1
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