SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA COUNTY OF TULARE JUVENILE COURT 11200 AVE. 368, RM. 201 VISALIA, CA 93291-8940	FOR COURT USE ONLY
IN THE MATTER OF	
A CHILD	
APPEAL RIGHTS (Welfare and Institutions Code § 252; California Rules of Court, Rule 5.585)	CASE NUMBER

- A judgment in a proceeding under Section 300 of the Welfare and Institutions Code may be appealed from in the same manner as any final judgment, and any subsequent order may be appealed from as from an order after judgment. The petitioner, child, and the parent or guardian each has the right as specified in the previous sentence. Any judgment, order, or decree setting a hearing under Section 366.26 of the Welfare and Institutions Code may be reviewed on appeal following the order at the section 366.26 hearing only if the procedures in California Rules of Court, Rules 8.450 and 8.452 have been followed.
- 2. California Rules of Court, Rule 5.542, and Welfare and Institutions Code Section 252 provide that at any time prior to the expiration of ten days after service of a written copy of the order and findings of a referee /commissioner, the child, parent, or guardian may apply to the Juvenile Court for a rehearing on all or any part of the order or findings. The application for rehearing must contain a brief statement of the factual or legal reasons such rehearing is requested.
- 3. You have the right to appeal to the Court of Appeal from the findings and orders of this court. You must file your Notice of Appeal within 60 days of today's date or, in matters heard by a referee/commissioner, within 60 days after the order of the referee/commissioner becomes final under California Rules of Court, Rule 5.540 and Welfare and Institutions Code Sections 252 and 253. The notice of appeal must be filed in this court as required by California Rules of Court, Rules 8.400 and 8.416 and not in the Court of Appeal. Your notice must clearly state that you are appealing, what it is you are appealing from and whether you are appealing from the entire order or just part of it. You or your attorney must sign the notice of appeal.
- 4. If you appeal and do not have the money to hire a lawyer, the appellate court will appoint a lawyer to represent you on appeal. If you cannot afford to pay for transcript, the court will provide a free copy for you. After you file the notice of appeal, you must keep the appellate court advised of your current mailing address so that you may be advised as to whether or not you have a right to be represented by a lawyer at no cost to you.

I have read the preceding paragraphs and understand my appeal rights as set out above.

Date:_____

Signature (Parent/Guardian)

Date:_____

Signature (Attorney)