Rule 600 - Case Management Conference

(@) The Judicial Council has implemented state rules for the management of civil cases (Cal.
Rules of Court, Chapter 2 Trial Court Management of Civil Cases, rules 10.900, et. seq.).

In recognition of the state rules requiring the court to implement a case management
Plan, the court elects to follow California Rules of Court, rule 3.714.

(1) At the time the complaint is filed, the clerk will issue a hearing date for the Case
Management Conference (CMC) to plaintiff that is no less than 120 days after the
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paekagePlalntlff must serve a Notlce of CMC on each defendant along with the
summons and complaint.

(2) Any party who files and serves a cross-complaint prior to the CMC must serve on
each cross-defendant who is a new party to the action, a copy of the Notice of
CMC and-the- ADR-package-along with the summons and cross-complaint. If a
new cross-defendant is served after the initial CMC, the cross-complainant must
serve the new cross-defendant with notice of any pending CMC, any assigned
mediation date, trial, or settlement conference dates, and any other dates set by the
court or orders made at the CMC.

(3) If the plaintiff adds a new defendant or identifies a fictitiously named defendant
after the initial CMC, along with the summons and complaint, plaintiff must serve
the newly named defendant with notice of any pending CMC, any pending
mediation date, any assigned trial and settlement conference dates, and any other
dates set by the court or orders made at the CMC.

(4) Proof of service of Notice of the CMC must be filed with the court within 60 days
from the date the complaint is filed and may be included in the proof of service of
the summons and complaint or cross-complaint.

(5) This court has found that mediation is highly desirable and orders the parties to
meet and confer prior to the CMC date regarding an agreed upon mediator and
mediation date and time. A list of mediators and their fees are provided by the
court in its ADR package. which can be obtained on the court’s website at
https://www.tulare.courts.ca.gov/divisions/civil. The mediator must be agreed
upon before the CMC and the mediation date and time cleared with the mediator
so the court may enter the date in the court’s minute order.

(6) Under California Rules of Court, rule 3.725, no later than 15 calendar days before
the date set for the CMC, each party must file a CMC statement and serve it on all



other parties in the case. Parties must use the mandatory CMC Statement (Judicial
Council form CM-110). All applicable items on the form must be completed.

(7) In lieu of each party’s filing a separate case management statement, any two or
more parties may file a joint statement.

(8) In the event all parties stipulate in writing presented to the clerk at least 15 days
prior to the Case Management Conference, any matter will be assigned for all
purposes to the South County Justice Center. Requests to transfer made after the
deadline for filing a stipulation will be at the discretion of the assigned judge.

(b) Presence Required - Counsel and unrepresented parties are required to be present, either
in person; by remote appearance as permitted by law (see
https://www.tulare.courts.ca.gov/online-services/request-remote-hearings for information
on remote appearances); or by telephonic appearance pursuant to The Superior Court of
Tulare County, Local Rules, rule 108, and must have: (1) sufficient information and
understanding of the case to evaluate it accurately, and (2) sufficient authority to enter
into binding agreements such as the diversion of the case to arbitration, including binding
arbitration, the setting of a trial date and mandatory settlement conference date, the
dismissal of doe defendants or other parties, and the setting of a further case management
conference.

(c) Compliance - Failure to attend the case management conference will result in the court
making whatever orders and imposing whatever sanctions as may be necessary and
appropriate to obtain compliance with these rules, including but not limited to, a waiver
of the right to a jury trial and a waiver of the right to object to a referral to arbitration or
other alternate dispute resolution procedure.

(d) Waiver of Notice - When all parties are present at the case management conference and a
trial date and settlement conference dates are agreed to by the parties or ordered by the
court, such presence is an effective waiver of a separate or formal notice of settlement
conference and trial date. (01/01/03) (Revised 01/01/07, 01/01/09, 07/01/11, 07/01/17,
07/01/24)



